Skip to content

Standing Still

September 22, 2013

“Ok, let’s go over this again. You left work–”

“Did they get the information?”

“We don’t know anything about an arson.”

“And you aren’t actually checking. Then I don’t know anything about…what was it again?”

“You know good and damn well what it is. You blogged about it! You have three seconds to start talking or I’m booking you on obstruction.”

There was silence.

“One…”

An even longer silence.

“Two…”

“He made me promise not to tell.”

This brought a satisfied grin to the face of the interrogator.

“Who did? Who made you promise?”

“He didn’t tell me his name.”

“Description?”

“Oh. About two meters tall. Black short hair. Kind of greased back.”

“Any distinguishing features?”

“Nope. Except…”

“Yes?”

“Well, he kind of looked like, um…what’s his name? Ah! Michael Rennie.”

“Who’s Michael Rennie?”

“He’s this actor from the 50s.”

“Ok. What did he say?”

“Basically, that we are mistreating each other and that we should take better care of our planet. It’s the only one we’ve got.”

“I see. He used those words?”

There was another pause.

“Not exactly.”

“What were hid exact words?”

“I don’t think…no, I really don’t think you want to know.”

“I want to know.”

“I don’t think you do.”

“I really, really want to know.”

“Okay. He said, ‘Stop acting like a–holes.'”

“He said…! What else did he say?”

“Oh. Um. Klaatu barada…um. Wait. Wait, I know that word. Hang on. It’s on the tip of my tongue…”

The interrogator got up and opened the door.

“Book him!”

“Wait. You didn’t hear the best part. He got into his spaceship and flew away.”

“You’re going away for a long, long time.”

“Alright. Can I ‘phone home’ first?”

“No! We know you’re not insane.”

“You do, eh? Prove it.”

From → NKINTRA

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

